Opening Day Tickets Arrive

12 Mar

Share

By Jim Walters

I received my Opening Day tickets today. Like Jimmy Fallon in Fever Pitch, I have to admit to smelling them, and guess what, they do smell like championship material. Feeling a bit optimistic, it’s Friday.

Sure the tickets seat me closer to the planes overhead than to the field and that our short stop and center fielder aren’t going to play and its anyone’s guess who will pitch the 8th.

Yes, I know Mets-killer Josh Johnson will probably be on the mound for the Marlins and I am not to confident that we will not lose another man along the way.

Despite all of this and the dark cloud that sits over Citi Field, I know that on the morning of Monday, April 5th, I will wake up and the day will feel different. Baseball will be back and for the first time in 9 months, I will see a Mets game that actually means something.

In three weeks, I will be sitting in Citi Field on a Monday afternoon. What a life.

Let’s just hope it doesn’t snow.

Leave a Reply

