I WONDER WHY I DON’T LIKE YANKEES FANS

7 May

I was stuck in a frustrating conversation today with some Yankees fans who did their best to push my buttons. It only added to my disgust of this breed of fans.

So often, people ask me why I dislike the Yankees?

Why can’t I root for the Yankees they ask, often reminding me that they are from New York.

While some Mets fans will disagree with me, I am keeping an eye on the Red Sox series this weekend, hoping Boston knocks the Yanks around. I am keeping my other eye on our series in a few weeks, hoping our boys cause old George to blow a fuse.

I am bringing my fiance to a Subway Series game this summer just so she can understand this reality. Before she says “I do,” she needs to understand why I dislike the Yankees and their fans so much.

I am sure it will only take one of these games to explain everything.

In my conversation that I was stuck in (it was at work), one of the genius fans from Yankees land, forced me  to listen to his endless rant about how the Mets fans are the arrogant and ignorant ones.

Have you ever heard anything so laughable?

Of course he defended his breed, saying that the Yankees fans would never boo one of their “champions.”

He apparently removed from his memory the stadium full of Bronx faithful who booed Mariano Rivera.

When we talked about managers, he was quick to list all Yankees managers as the elite crop of skippers.

He did defend Willie Randolph, saying he lost with the Mets because he didn’t have the players. I guess he sees Randolph as a Yankee. If he’s such a good manager, why did he take a bench job with the Brewers?

While I tried to speak reason with him, he managed to close his ears to all of it. He had a point to make and he made it, once again reminding me why I cannot root for the New York Yankees.

I always recall the Clemens-Piazza incident of 2000 when Clemens hit Piazza in the head with a fastball. Months later, he threw a broken bat at the Mets catcher.

Too many Yankees fans defended Clemens in his actions, ignoring any intent. Again, Yankees fans forgot how furious they were when Clemens, as a member of the Blue Jays, threw at the head of their precious Jeter.

While I can tip my cap to the Yankees and what they did last October, there is a part of me, in solidarity with so many baseball fans across this great land, that roots for their demise.

For me, it’s not about salary or player’s personalities (although there is plenty to say about that).

This is about the Yankees fans and their arrogance and inability to see beyond their stuck up noses.

When this one fan called me and my fellow  Mets fans arrogant, I asked him, what was there for us to be arrogant about.

Are we humbled, sure.

Are we pessimistic at times? Of course, how could we not be.

Arrogant? Not exactly.

It is the Yankee fan (not all, but most), who own this title.

They have earned their rings to walk with such a swagger but it is their ignorance, as experienced today, which makes these     “creatures” the part of society that I just want to crawl back under whatever rock they came from.

3 Responses to “I WONDER WHY I DON’T LIKE YANKEES FANS”

  1. carmelo May 8, 2010 at 2:33 AM #

    hahahahahahaha

  2. keithosaunders May 8, 2010 at 9:10 AM #

    If you look up the word condescending in the dictionary you will find a picture of a Yankee fan. The beaning and subsequent bat-throwing incident sticks in my craw to this day. At that point it was incumbent on Hampton to knock one of the Yankee hitters [Jeter] on their ass.

  3. Vanessa May 12, 2010 at 10:14 AM #

    Hey Hey
    its not all of us and you know it

    you know i am an amazing Yankee fan and never give you crap lol

    most of the Yankee fans do suck i will give you that
    But hey give the ones like me some props

    Love ya and let me know how Suzie likes her first subway series game

    I’m so jealous how do you always get these tickets?

Leave a Reply

